National Honor Society Welcomes New Inductees

On  March 28, 2018, the Georgetown Chapter of the National Honor Society welcomed 40 new members into their prestigious society during their annual  induction ceremony at the school.  Seated on one side of the stage were the 32 current members and on the other side sat the new inductees. It was a wonderful  ceremony that featured Social Studies teacher and Department Head Mr. Rick Hastings as the guest speaker.  Mr. Hastings urged the students to be open-minded and flexible in their career choice and noted that sometimes circumstances in life offer new opportunities that might not have been planned.  His advice was practical , straightforward and delivered with his great sense of humor. It is no surprise that the students chose him again as this year’s speaker after being selected for this same honor ten years ago. It says a lot about the respect the all students have for Mr. Hastings!

Co-advisors Mr. Chris DiFranco and  Mrs. Kate Cataldo did an excellent job setting up  the evening’s program  and attending to every detail of this prestigious ceremony. One of the highlights of this year’s ceremony was the welcome remarks that were delivered by Principal Peter Lucia as this will be his last address to the National Honor Society since he is retiring at the close of this school year.  Mr. Lucia took the opportunity to share some of the lessons he has leaned over his 37 years in education in the areas of  scholarship,  leadership , service and character which are the pillars of the NHS.  Mr. Lucia has always been a strong supporter of the National Honor Society so it was  fitting that he had the chance to reflect in a positive and practical way on a long and successful career with the students in the NHS.

It gives me great pride and pleasure to congratulate the new inductees and their families.

Seniors: Grace MacDonald, Erin O’Leary and Casey Smith

Juniors: Ethan Block, Grace Boudreau,Serena Burkinshaw,Kyle Chorzewski, Maylinda Chou, Julia D’Entremont, Danialle Damico, Nicole Donnelly, Henry Evans, Olivia Fair, Tea Ferrara, Emma Fitzgerald, Alyssa Gaeta, Samantha geberth, Luia Giangrande,Abigail Hartman, Catherine Kalogeros,Lyla Krol, Hunter lane, Sydney Lien, Ryan Litch, Michael Lundquist, Sarah Mabius, Dylan Mahoney,Chloe Martens, Madison Medwid, Emma Monkiewicz, Erika Newton, Colleen O’Connor, Carmine Palmisano, Jordan Songer, Patrick Sedgwick, Maeve Sousa , Emma Thompson, Kenny Tran, Brendan Willis, Haylee Zadina.

We are very proud of all of these students and know that they have a bright future ahead of them. Hope they fly high and proud and always follow their dreams. Keep up the great work!